Alec Weisman's

LIGNET in Review

In Foreign Affairs on September 16, 2014 at 2:31 am

It is with a heavy heart that I must announce I am leaving LIGNET after more than three years due to a recent decision by Newsmax to permanently sideline the project on October 30. While the website is no longer online, I retain a copy of every article I wrote on the site.

From June 2011 through October 2014, LIGNET published my pieces on 191 of the 193 UN member states and dozens of territories/disputed countries* as well as more than 100 major energy, manufacturing, and technology companies.

I have learned an incredible amount and been a production powerhouse. I single-handedly wrote a combined 1,452 Analyses and Snowflakes/InBriefs/DailyBriefs (the name has developed throughout the course of the site’s history) — over a sixth of the site’s entire content — between June 15, 2011 and September 11, 2014.

Some Interesting Analytics:

During my first year (2011) I covered 78 countries (78 of 193) and generated a total of 132 stories.
During my second year (2012) I covered another 108 countries (186 of 193) and generated a total of 368 stories.
During my third year (2013) I covered 4 more countries (190 of 193) and generated a total of 534 stories.
During my fourth year (2014) I covered just one new country (191 of 193) and generated a total of 418 stories.

However, if I count citing Micronesia, Samoa, and Vanuatu in this piece Pacific Islands “Fighting for Survival” then I technically covered all 193 countries in 2013.

Top Countries By Analyses/Total Stories (Analysis+Briefs)

1. China – 42/100
2. Russia – 39/71
3. Israel – 25/42
4. Yemen – 23/9
*United States – 20/21*
5. Nigeria – 17/20
6. United Kingdom – 13/39
7. India – 13/30
8. Canada – 13/24
9. Bahrain – 14/10
10. Iran – 12/28

Top Countries
Blue – Analyses vs. Red – Briefs

11. Argentina – 12/10
12. Syria – 11/22
13. Mexico – 10/22
14. Brazil – 10/19
15. Mali – 10/7
16. Japan – 9/21
17. Italy – 9/13
18. Algeria – 9/9
19. Indonesia – 9/9
20. Egypt – 10/8

Most Commonly Mentioned Companies

Chevron (NYSE: CVX) – 25
Total (NYSE: TOT) – 18
Gazprom (London: OGZD) – 17
Rosneft (London: ROSN) – 16
Royal Dutch Shell (NYSE: RDS) – 16
ExxonMobil (NYSE: XOM) – 16

Notable Territories and Disputed Countries* Covered Include:
A – Abkhazia, Abu Musa, Aruba
B – Bermuda, British Virgin Islands
C – Cayman Islands, Catalonia, Ceuta, Chechnya, Corsica, Crimea, Cyrenaica
D – Darfur
E – East China Sea
F – Falkland Islands, Faroe Islands, French Guiana
G – Galapagos Islands, Greenland, Gibraltar, Golan Heights, Guernsey
H – Hong Kong
I – Iraqi Kurdistan
J – Jersey, Jubaland
K – Kaliningrad, Kashmir, Kosovo, Kuril Islands
L – Liancourt Rocks
M – Macau, Melila
N – Nagorno-Karabakh, New Caledonia, Northern Ireland
O – The Outback
P – Palestine, Patagonia, Puerto Rico, Puntland
Q – Quebec
S – Scotland, Senkaku Islands, Shetland Islands, Somaliland, South China Sea, South Ossetia, Spratly Islands
T – Taiwan, Tibet, Tokelau, Transnistria, Transylvania
V – Vatican City, Venice
W – Western Sahara
X – Xinjiang
Z – Zanzibar

Below is a Excel Spreadsheet of my portfolio organized by date when a country, territory, and company is prominently featured. However, some of the links are broken so the url may need to Googled.

My LIGNET Country List

Leave a Reply

